Skip to content
Balance Transfer Calculator

RBI prepayment charge rules from 1 January 2026, scoped

What the RBI Pre-payment Charges on Loans Directions 2025 actually cover from 1 January 2026, the ₹50 lakh threshold, and the misreading doing the rounds.

Updated 3 September 2026. Reviewed against issuer terms and regulator data current at that date.

“RBI bans foreclosure charges from January 2026” is the summary in circulation. It is close enough to be believed and wrong in the two ways that matter most to a borrower deciding whether to move a loan. This page sets out what the Directions say, whom they bind, and which loans they leave exactly where they were.

Nothing here is a substitute for the sanction letter and loan agreement, which are the documents that govern a particular loan. Every figure is dated 2026-09-03.

The instrument

Reserve Bank of India (Pre-payment Charges on Loans) Directions, 2025. Notification RBI/2025-26/64, reference DoR.MCS.REC.38/01.01.001/2025-26, issued 2 July 2025, following a draft put out for public consultation on 21 February 2025.

They apply to all loans and advances sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026.

The regulated entities covered are commercial banks other than payments banks, co-operative banks, non-banking financial companies and All India Financial Institutions.

What the Directions actually do

Individuals, non-business purpose, floating rate. The operative text is unconditional: for all loans granted for purposes other than business to individuals, with or without co-obligants, a regulated entity shall not levy pre-payment charges. No loan-amount threshold, no exclusion by source of funds, and expressly without any minimum lock-in period. That last clause is the one that removes the near-universal 12-EMI lock-in on the loans the rule reaches.

Individuals and micro and small enterprises, business purpose, floating rate. Here the coverage is split by lender type. Commercial banks other than payments banks, Tier-4 urban co-operative banks, upper-layer NBFCs and All India Financial Institutions may not levy charges at all. Small finance banks, regional rural banks, Tier-1 to Tier-3 urban co-operative banks and middle-layer NBFCs may not levy charges on loans with a sanctioned limit up to ₹50 lakh. The threshold is tested on the sanctioned amount rather than the outstanding, and per lender rather than across a borrower’s whole exposure.

Dual-rate and special-rate loans. Applicability turns on whether the loan is on a floating rate at the time of pre-payment. A loan that began fixed and has since converted to floating is treated by the mode that is live on the prepayment date.

Disclosure. Pre-payment charges have to be disclosed in the sanction letter, the loan agreement and the Key Facts Statement, and charges that were not disclosed as specified cannot be levied. Retrospective levies are prohibited, and no charge arises where the prepayment is at the lender’s own instance.

The two limits that get lost in the summaries

Limit one: fixed-rate loans are not covered. The rule is a floating-rate rule throughout. Indian retail personal loans are almost universally fixed-rate. So are most car loans, two-wheeler loans, gold loans and a large share of NBFC business loans. For those products the January 2026 date changes nothing at all, and the lender’s board-approved foreclosure policy continues to apply. A borrower who reads a headline and assumes the charge is now nil can be surprised by a bill of ₹20,000 or more on a ₹6 lakh personal loan. The bank-by-bank position is set out on personal loan foreclosure charges.

Limit two: it applies only to loans sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026. A loan taken in 2023, 2024 or 2025 sits outside the Directions regardless of whether it is floating or fixed, unless it is renewed. A loan sanctioned before 1 January 2026 sits outside the Directions, but a loan sanctioned during 2026 is inside them, so check the sanction date on the outgoing loan before assuming the rule does not apply.

There is a genuine forward-looking benefit, and it is worth stating separately. A new floating-rate loan sanctioned in 2026 or later, to an individual for a non-business purpose, can be prepaid in part or in full, from any source, at no charge and with no lock-in. That makes the incoming loan cheaper to leave later, which matters to anyone who expects rates to fall further.

Product by product

Home loans. Floating-rate home loans to individuals were already protected. RBI circulars of 5 June 2012 and 2014 barred foreclosure charges and pre-payment penalties on floating-rate term loans to individual borrowers, and the lender schedules reflect it: HDFC Bank publishes nil prepayment charges for individual floating-rate borrowers, Kotak publishes nil for floating and up to 4% only for fixed. The 2025 Directions codify and widen that rather than creating it. A fixed-rate home loan is still chargeable, which is the branch the home loan calculator asks about.

Personal loans. Fixed-rate in almost every case, so unaffected in practice. Charges of 2% to 6% of outstanding plus 18% GST, with 6 to 12 month lock-ins, remain the market norm. The personal loan calculator keeps a foreclosure input for exactly this reason.

Car loans. Predominantly fixed-rate, and tiered by loan age. HDFC Bank’s published new car loan pre-closure charges are cited at 6% of principal outstanding within 12 months, 5% in months 13 to 24 and 3% after 24 months. Unaffected by the Directions. See the car loan calculator.

Education loans. Frequently floating-rate and taken by individuals for a non-business purpose, so a loan sanctioned from 1 January 2026 falls squarely inside the unconditional branch. Older NBFC education loans typically carry 2% to 4% within a lock-in. The education loan takeover calculator covers the arithmetic.

Loan against property. The purpose decides the branch. A LAP taken for a personal purpose at a floating rate is in the unconditional branch; a business-purpose LAP falls under the MSE branch and the ₹50 lakh threshold applies where the lender is a middle-layer NBFC or a smaller co-operative bank. The LAP calculator treats it as a separate input.

Business loans. Floating-rate MSE loans from commercial banks and upper-layer NBFCs carry no prepayment charge on sanctions from 1 January 2026. Fixed-rate business loans, and floating-rate loans above the ₹50 lakh limit from the lender types where the threshold applies, can still be charged at 2% to 5%.

Gold loans. Almost always fixed-rate and short-tenure, so outside the Directions. The separate gold loan rules effective 1 April 2026 are a different instrument on a different timetable.

The other circular, and the one that is often confused with it

The 2025 Directions are about pre-payment. A second RBI instrument governs what happens when a floating rate resets: Reset of Floating Interest Rate on EMI based Personal Loans, circular RBI/2023-24/55, reference DOR.MCS.REC.32/01.01.003/2023-24, dated 18 August 2023, master-updated 1 October 2025, with clarificatory FAQs issued on 10 January 2025.

Housing loans are inside its scope. The RBI’s definition of personal loans, from the December 2017 harmonisation of retail credit categories, expressly includes loans given for the creation or enhancement of immovable assets, and the circular binds scheduled commercial banks, regional rural banks, co-operative banks, NBFCs and housing finance companies.

Five requirements matter to a borrower comparing offers:

  1. Lenders must notify the borrower when a rate reset changes the EMI, the tenor, or both.
  2. At reset the borrower must be offered a choice: a higher EMI, a longer tenor, or a combination.
  3. Lenders may offer a switch to a fixed rate, per a board-approved policy, with a permitted cap on how often the switch can be made. This is permissive, not a borrower right.
  4. Borrowers may prepay in part or in full at any time during the tenor.
  5. All charges for switching and for related services must be transparently disclosed in the sanction letter and again at the time of revision.

Point five is the useful one when pricing an internal conversion against a full transfer. Point two is the reason a lender must not silently extend the tenure on a reset, which is the tenure-stretching failure mode discussed on same EMI versus same tenure.

Reading a sanction letter against the rules

Three questions settle whether the 2025 Directions touch a particular loan. Is the rate floating at the moment of prepayment? Was the loan sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026? Is the purpose non-business, or if it is business, does the lender type and the sanctioned amount fall inside the covered band?

Where all three land the right way, the sanction letter should state nil pre-payment charges, and a charge that was not disclosed as specified cannot be levied. Where any of the three does not, the lender’s published schedule governs, and it is the number to put into a transfer calculation rather than a zero.

Common questions

Did the RBI ban foreclosure charges on all loans from 1 January 2026?

No. The Directions cover floating-rate loans, and only for loans sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026. Fixed-rate loans are outside them altogether, and most Indian retail personal loans, car loans, two-wheeler loans and gold loans are fixed-rate. The headline version, that foreclosure charges are gone, is the most widely repeated and most misleading summary of the rule.

Does the rule help someone doing a balance transfer in 2026?

On the outgoing side, usually not. A loan being transferred in 2026 was by definition sanctioned earlier, so it sits outside a rule that applies to loans sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026. It does help on the incoming side: a new floating-rate loan sanctioned in 2026 or later can be prepaid or foreclosed later at no charge, which is a forward-looking benefit rather than a present saving.

What is the ₹50 lakh threshold?

For floating-rate business-purpose loans to individuals and micro and small enterprises, the prohibition is unconditional for commercial banks other than payments banks, Tier-4 urban co-operative banks, upper-layer NBFCs and All India Financial Institutions. For small finance banks, regional rural banks, Tier-1 to Tier-3 urban co-operative banks and middle-layer NBFCs, it applies only up to a sanctioned limit of ₹50 lakh. The test is on the sanctioned amount, not the outstanding.

Was there no protection before this?

There was, on home loans. RBI circulars of 5 June 2012 and 2014 already barred foreclosure charges and pre-payment penalties on floating-rate term loans to individual borrowers, which is why floating-rate home loan borrowers have paid nothing to exit for years. The 2025 Directions widen and codify that, add the business and MSE branch, and remove minimum lock-in periods for the loans they cover.

Can a borrower switch from floating to fixed to escape a rate rise?

Only if the lender offers it. The RBI circular on Reset of Floating Interest Rate on EMI based Personal Loans, RBI/2023-24/55 dated 18 August 2023, says lenders may offer a switch to a fixed rate under a board-approved policy, with a permitted cap on switching frequency. That is a may, not a shall, so there is no unconditional right to switch, and the switching charges have to be disclosed.

Do the Directions apply to housing loans under the reset circular too?

The 2023 reset circular does cover housing loans. The RBI's definition of personal loans, from the December 2017 harmonisation of retail categories, expressly includes loans for the creation or enhancement of immovable assets, and the circular binds scheduled commercial banks, regional rural banks, co-operative banks, NBFCs and housing finance companies. The RBI issued clarificatory FAQs on 10 January 2025.

Sources

  1. Reserve Bank of India (Pre-payment Charges on Loans) Directions, 2025, RBI/2025-26/64, DoR.MCS.REC.38/01.01.001/2025-26, issued 2 July 2025, effective for all loans and advances sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026, retrieved 2026-09-03.
  2. Reserve Bank of India, Reset of Floating Interest Rate on EMI based Personal Loans, RBI/2023-24/55, DOR.MCS.REC.32/01.01.003/2023-24, dated 18 August 2023 (notification to borrowers on reset, choice of higher EMI or longer tenor or both, option of switching to a fixed rate under board-approved policy, prepayment permitted at any time, transparent disclosure of switching charges), retrieved 2026-09-03.
  3. Economic Laws Practice, text of the Reserve Bank of India (Pre-payment Charges on Loans) Directions, 2025 as issued on 2 July 2025 (PDF), retrieved 2026-09-03.
  4. Vinod Kothari Consultants, FAQs on pre-payment charges under the 2025 Directions (fixed-rate loans not covered, dual-rate loans governed by the mode live at prepayment, threshold tested on sanctioned amount per lender) (secondary source), retrieved 2026-09-03.
  5. Taxguru, Reserve Bank of India Pre-payment Charges on Loans Directions 2025, quoting the operative clauses including no minimum lock-in period and disclosure in the sanction letter and loan agreement (secondary source), retrieved 2026-09-03.
  6. Lawrbit, RBI prepayment charges on loans 2025, key guidelines and borrower impact (secondary source), retrieved 2026-09-03.
  7. Business Standard, RBI proposes to scrap foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans for retail and MSME borrowers, draft circular of 21 February 2025 (secondary source), retrieved 2026-09-03.
  8. Business Standard, RBI asks banks not to levy penalty on loan pre-payment, 2014 instruction on floating-rate term loans to individual borrowers (secondary source), retrieved 2026-09-03.

Run your numbers in the calculator